Love Durham Cathedral?Donate now

The cathedral has been a place of worship for more than a millennium. Each year we host over 1,400 services, welcoming thousands of visitors and pilgrims.

Public services have resumed at Durham Cathedral. Many of our services will continue to be broadcast online, find out how to watch on our online worship resources page.

Sunday services

  • 8.30am Morning Prayer (Book of Common Prayer). This service is live streamed only - available online.
  • 9.30am Sung Eucharist (Common Worship). This service takes place in the cathedral - prior booking is recommended.
  • 11.30am Sung Eucharist (Common Worship). This service takes place in the cathedral - prior booking is recommended, and the service will also be live-streamed online. 
  • 3.30pm Choral Evensong (Book of Common Prayer).

Daily services Monday to Saturday 

  • 8.30am Morning Prayer (Common Worship). This service takes place in the cathedral and is also live-streamed online.  You are welcome to come to the cathedral or join online. 
  • 12.30pm Holy Communion. This service takes place in the cathedral's North Trancept and is open to all, but is not available online.
  • 5.15pm Evening Prayer (Mondays) or Choral Evensong (Tuesday to Saturday). This Book of Common Prayer service takes place in the cathedral and is also live-streamed online. You are welcome to come to the cathedral or join online.

Come to a service at the cathedral

For track and trace purposes and to manage the number of people inside the cathedral, we recommend booking in advance if you would like to attend a service at the cathedral, particularly for the 9.30am and 11.30am Sunday Sung Eucharist services.

If you can't book online, please come along to the service a little early. Cathedral staff will make every effort to accommodate you at the service and will take your details for Track and Trace purposes at the door.

Book your place for the service you’d like to attend on our services booking page.

A previous Remembrance Sunday service at Durham Cathedral

Remembrance Sunday service: Sunday 8 November

Unfortunately, we will not be able to conduct this year's Remembrance Sunday service as we would normally wish to. On Sunday 8 November, the Remembrance Sunday service will not be open to the general public, in order to ensure that all relevant military and civil organisations are represented within the limited numbers permitted in church at this time.

Watch the service online

The service will be live-streamed at 10.30am on Durham Cathedral's Facebook page.

Other services on Remembrance Sunday

  • Holy Communion will be live-streamed at 8.30am in place of Morning Prayer. Holy Communion will be online only.
  • Choral Evensong will be sung at 3.30pm. This service is open to the public as well as being live-streamed as usual.

Thank you for your understanding. These alterations will make this important service safer for all attending, and we hope that by streaming the service online we hope that many more people than usual will be able to participate in the service.

New online booking system for services at Durham Cathedral

We've changed how you can book spaces for services held at Durham Cathedral. Our new online booking system allows you to book for any public service at the cathedral, for any upcoming date.

Booking online in advance isn't required, but it helps us gauge demand for our services.

Book for a service

What to expect at a Durham Cathedral service

This short video, narrated by Canon Michael Hampel, guides you through the measures we're taking to keep our congregation, staff and volunteers safe from COVID-19.

When you hover over the video, click on the arrows icon to view the video fullscreen.

Watch

How have services changed due to COVID-19?

For all services:

  • Face coverings must be worn inside Durham Cathedral, except for children under the age of 11 and people unable to wear face coverings for specific reasons. Read more in the FAQs on this page.
  • Socially-distanced seating has been introduced. Those in one social bubble will be able to sit together.
  • Many services will continue to be broadcast online on our Facebook page and Youtube channel. Find out how to take part in all our online services on our online worship resources page.
 

For specific services:

Sunday Sung Eucharist

Both Sunday Sung Eucharist services are the same; there are two services to ensure social distancing. The services will be sung by Durham Cathedral Choir, with a sermon and organ music. The Peace will shared verbally. Communion will be distributed in one kind only, the consecrated bread, by clergy wearing face coverings.

Daily Monday to Saturday services

You will need to bring you own prayer book and bible. Alternatively, you can download the Church of England’s daily prayer app on your smartphone or tablet to follow the service. 

Other safety measures in place at the cathedral

We have already introduced safety procedures to keep you and our staff and volunteers safe. 

  • regular cleaning of the cathedral
  • social distancing and pews widely separated
  • a one-way system around the cathedral's nave (with entry via the Galilee Chapel and exit via the North Door)
  • hand sanitiser for staff and members of the public
  • specially trained staff on duty
  • protective screen at the visitor desk 
  • additional signage
  • limited number of people allowed in the building

If you have further questions about coming to Durham Cathedral for a service, read our answers to frequently asked questions at the bottom of our opening times page.

Service schedules

We publish details of current and recent service schedules which are downloadable in PDF format. Forthcoming fortnightly schedules are usually available 3 days in advance.

If you would like to see a record of a past service, please contact enquiries@durhamcathedral.co.uk stating the date.

2020 - Monday 19 October - Sunday 25 October

2020 - Monday 12 October - Sunday 18 October

2020 - Monday 5 October - Sunday 11 October

2020 - Monday 28 September - Sunday 4 October

2020 - Monday 21 September - Sunday 27 September

2020 - Monday 14 September - Sunday 20 September

Durham Cathedral's response to Coronavirus

2020 - Monday 9 March - Sunday 22 March

2020 - Monday 24 February - Sunday 8 March

2020 - Monday 10 February - Sunday 23 February

2020 - Monday 27 January - Sunday 9 February

2020 - Monday 13 January - Sunday 26 January

2019 - Monday 30 December - Sunday 12 January

2019 - Monday 16 December - Sunday 29 December

2019 - Monday 2 December - Sunday 15 December

2019 - Monday 18 November - Sunday 1 December

2019 - Monday 4 November - Sunday 17 November

2019 - Monday 21 October - Sunday 3 November

2019 - Monday 7 October - Sunday 20 October

2019 - Monday 23 September - Sunday 6 October

2019 - Monday 9 September - Sunday 22 September

2019 - Monday 26 August - Sunday 8 September

2019 - Monday 12 August - Sunday 25 August

2019 - Monday 29 July - Sunday 11 August

2019 - Monday 15 July - Sunday 28 July

2019 - Monday 1 July - Sunday 14 July

2019 - Monday 17 June - Sunday 30 June

2019 - Monday 3 June - Sunday 16 June

2019 - Monday 20 May - Sunday 2 June

2019 - Monday 6 May - Sunday 19 May

2019 - Monday 22 April - Sunday 5 May

2019 - Monday 8 April - Sunday 21 April 2019

2019 - Monday 25 March - Sunday 7 April

2019 - Monday 11 March - Sunday 24 March

2019 - Monday 25 February - Sunday 10 March

2019 - Monday 11 February - Sunday 24 February

2019 - Monday 28 January - Sunday 10 February 

2019 - Monday 14 January - Sunday 27 January

2018 - Monday 31 December - 2019 - Sunday 13 January 

2018 - Monday 17 December - Sunday 30 December 

2018 - Monday 3 December - Sunday 16 December 

2018 - Monday 19 November - Sunday 2 December 

2018 - Monday 5 November - Sunday 18 November 

2018 - Monday 22 October - Sunday 4 November

2018 - Monday 8 October - Sunday 21 October

2018 - Monday 24 September - Sunday 7 October

2018 - Monday 10 September - Sunday 23 September 

2018 - Monday 27 August - Sunday 9 September

2018 - Monday 13 August - Sunday 26 August

2018 - Monday 30 July - Sunday 12 August 

2018 - Monday 16 July - Sunday 29 July

2018 - Monday 2 July - Sunday 15 July

2018 - Monday 18 June - Sunday 1 July

2018 - Monday 4 June to Sunday 17 June

2018 - Monday 21 May to Sunday 3 June

2018 - Monday 7 to Sunday 20 May

2018 - Monday 23 April Sunday 6 May

2018 - Monday 9 to Sunday 22 April

2018 - Monday 26 March to Sunday 8 April (inc Easter)

2018 - Monday 12 to Sunday 25 March

2018 - Monday 26 February to Sunday 11 March

2018 - Monday 12 February to Sunday 25 February

2018 - Monday 29 January to Sunday 11 February

2018 - Monday 15 January to Sunday 28 January

2018 - Monday 1 January to Sunday 14 January

Praying Together archive

This resource can be used as an aid to private prayer and worship. Older editions of Praying Together can be found below. View the current edition on our online worship resources page.

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 27 September - the sixteenth Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 20 September - the fifteenth Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 13 September - the fourteenth Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 6 September - the thirteenth Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 30 August - the twelfth Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 23 August - the eleventh Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 16 August - the tenth Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 9 August - the Anniversary of the Foundation of the Cathedral.

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 19 July - the sixth Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 12 July - the fifth Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 5 July - the fourth Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 28 June - the third Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together during the week commencing Sunday 21 June - the second Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together for the week commencing Sunday 14 June - the first Sunday after Trinity

Praying Together for the week commencing Sunday 7 June - Trinity Sunday

Praying Together for the week commencing Sunday 31 May - Pentecost

Praying Together for the week commencing Sunday 24 May- the Seventh Sunday of Easter

Praying Together for the week commencing Sunday 17 May- the Sixth Sunday of Easter

Praying Together for the week commencing Sunday 10 May - the Fifth Sunday of Easter

Praying Together for the week commencing Sunday 3 May - the Fourth Sunday of Easter

Praying Together for the week commencing Sunday 26 April - the Third Sunday of Easter.

Praying Together for the week commencing Sunday 19 April - the Second Sunday of Easter.

Praying Together for the week commencing 12 April - Easter Day

Praying Together incorporating addresses given on Good Friday - The Three Hours

Praying Together incorporating the addresses given at the service of Compline - 6, 7 and 8 April 

Praying Together for the week commencing Sunday 5 April - Palm Sunday 

 

Collections

Ten per cent of all collections is given to the Chapter’s discretionary fund for charities. The remainder goes towards the mission and ministry of the Cathedral.

Special Services

During the year we hold many special liturgical events and services that bring people and communities together.

More about our special services