Love Durham Cathedral?Donate now

The Cathedral has been a place of worship for more than a millennium. Each year we host over 1,400 services, welcoming thousands of visitors and pilgrims.

Sunday services

  • 8am Holy Communion - Book of Common Prayer
  • 10am Matins - Book of Common Prayer
  • 11.15am Sung Eucharist - Common Worship
  • 3.30pm Evensong - Book of Common Prayer

Daily services on weekdays

  • 7.30am Holy Communion - Book of Common Prayer on Wednesdays only
  • 8.45am Morning Prayer - Common Worship (from 2 September 2019 Morning Prayer begins at 8.30am).
  • 12.30pm Holy Communion - Common Worship
  • 5.15pm Evening Prayer - Book of Common Prayer, Monday
  • 5.15pm Evensong - Book of Common Prayer, Tuesday – Saturday

On Mondays we often welcome visiting choirs to sing Evensong, which replaces Evening Prayer.

 

Weekly events

A Prayer for Peace on Thursdays

A weekly prayer for peace and justice takes place at 12pm on Thursdays. For inspiration, take a look at our Prayer for Peace.

Who sings Evensong?

Evensong is sung by our Cathedral Choir. On Mondays and when they are on holiday or touring, visiting choirs usually sing in their place. Please check the service schedule online below, or ask one of our stewards or the welcome desk for details.

Service schedules

We publish details of current and recent service schedules which are downloadable in PDF format. Forthcoming fortnightly schedules are usually available 3 days in advance.

2019 - Monday 12 August - Sunday 25 August

2019 - Monday 29 July - Sunday 11 August

2019 - Monday 15 July - Sunday 28 July

2019 - Monday 1 July - Sunday 14 July

2019 - Monday 17 June - Sunday 30 June

2019 - Monday 3 June - Sunday 16 June

2019 - Monday 20 May - Sunday 2 June

2019 - Monday 6 May - Sunday 19 May

2019 - Monday 22 April - Sunday 5 May

2019 - Monday 8 April - Sunday 21 April 2019

2019 - Monday 25 March - Sunday 7 April

2019 - Monday 11 March - Sunday 24 March

2019 - Monday 25 February - Sunday 10 March

2019 - Monday 11 February - Sunday 24 February

2019 - Monday 28 January - Sunday 10 February 

2019 - Monday 14 January - Sunday 27 January

2018 - Monday 31 December - 2019 - Sunday 13 January 

2018 - Monday 17 December - Sunday 30 December 

2018 - Monday 3 December - Sunday 16 December 

2018 - Monday 19 November - Sunday 2 December 

2018 - Monday 5 November - Sunday 18 November 

2018 - Monday 22 October - Sunday 4 November

2018 - Monday 8 October - Sunday 21 October

2018 - Monday 24 September - Sunday 7 October

2018 - Monday 10 September - Sunday 23 September 

2018 - Monday 27 August - Sunday 9 September

2018 - Monday 13 August - Sunday 26 August

2018 - Monday 30 July - Sunday 12 August 

2018 - Monday 16 July - Sunday 29 July

2018 - Monday 2 July - Sunday 15 July

2018 - Monday 18 June - Sunday 1 July

2018 - Monday 4 June to Sunday 17 June

2018 - Monday 21 May to Sunday 3 June

2018 - Monday 7 to Sunday 20 May

2018 - Monday 23 April Sunday 6 May

2018 - Monday 9 to Sunday 22 April

2018 - Monday 26 March to Sunday 8 April (inc Easter)

2018 - Monday 12 to Sunday 25 March

2018 - Monday 26 February to Sunday 11 March

2018 - Monday 12 February to Sunday 25 February

2018 - Monday 29 January to Sunday 11 February

2018 - Monday 15 January to Sunday 28 January

2018 - Monday 1 January to Sunday 14 January

 

 

 

 

How to view past services

If you would like to see a record of a past service, please contact enquiries@durhamcathedral.co.uk stating the date.

 

Collections

Ten per cent of all collections is given to the Chapter’s discretionary fund for charities. The remainder goes towards the mission and ministry of the Cathedral.

Special Services

During the year we hold many special liturgical events and services that bring people and communities together.

More about our special services